Where are the product pics?

If you follow my YouTube channel, you know that my makeup tutorials used to begin with a photo of the main products I used. You might also have noticed that my recent tutorials have not. Well, the reason is that it’s not fun anymore.

This is one of the dirty little secrets of beauty blogging/vlogging/tutorialing/hauling. There are times when it just gets un-fun. And if it’s not fun, why do it? Now, I’m talking about a beauty-er like myself–someone who is not financially invested in it. I’m not a YouTube partner; I have only once received products from a company; I don’t blog/vlog regularly enough to be asked to host giveaways. So, my stake is entirely personal. The upside is that when I don’t feel like doing it, I really don’t have to. When I can’t find inspiration, it’s okay.

And the early product pics were all about inspiration and enthusiasm. Now, not so much. I like looking back on the product photos, though. I think some of them were especially appealing. (Others, not so much.) As a tribute to a bygone mini era of creativity, I present this slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Where are the product pics?”

  1. I love your candor. And I like that you are moved by your personal interests and enthusiasm, two qualities which, I believe, make your videos pleasing.

Comments are closed.