Emsy’s Big (Transition) Chop

Saturday night, I was continuing an ongoing internal debate: new relaxer vs. big chop. As I contemplated, I finally had a moment of clarity: “I’m 29 years old, and I don’t really know anything about my hair’s actual texture.” I became increasingly excited about losing the relaxer as the weekend drew to a close, especially since my relaxed hair was a frightful mess of split ends and rampant breakage.

So, first thing Monday morning, I had most of my relaxed hair cut off. Since my new growth wasn’t exceptionally long (it’s only been about two and a half months since my last relaxer), the stylist left quite a bit of relaxed hair on top. When she handed me the mirror, I exclaimed, “That’s me! Nothing to hide behind now.” So true.

Now I’m just excited about getting to know my hair and what works best for it.

Big (Transition) Chop
Big (Transition) Chop
10 thoughts on “Emsy’s Big (Transition) Chop”

    1. Thanks, Atiyah! It’s been more than two weeks, and I haven’t regretted it once! I’m so excited and loving it!

  1. Your hair looks really good. I have the same haircut.
    I’m waiting for your next video!!!

  2. You’re hair looks great on you! Nothing beats wash and wear hair in the summer. Hope to see you on YouTube soon!

  3. Your hair looks nice, at some point I will go natural. I get relaxers every 12 or 16 weeks. Also, when are you going to make some videos?

    1. Thanks, Kim!

      I hope to make at least one video this week. I have some rough ideas, but I haven’t been inspired for a long time. :o\

Comments are closed.