Side by Side Review — LashBlast & Colossal Volum’ Express

The Products

CoverGirl LashBlast Volume Blasting Waterproof Mascara
CoverGirl LashBlast Volume Blasting Waterproof Mascara in Very Black
Maybelline Colossal Volum Express
Maybelline Colossal Volum' Express Mascara in Glam Black

The Claims

CoverGirl says that LashBlast’s “patented volume-boosting formula and patent-pending brush” will “max-out each and every lash, leaving you with the ultimate big lash look.”

Maybelline says that Colossal Volum’ Express’ “patented MegaBrush + Collagen Formula plump lashes one by one,” creating “dramatic volume with no clumps.”

CoverGirl LashBlast (left) & Maybelline Colossal Volum' Express (right)
CoverGirl LashBlast (left) & Maybelline Colossal Volum' Express (right)

The Pros

Each mascara adds volume to my lashes, and the rich black color of each product makes my lashes more noticeable.

LashBlast is available in both waterproof and non-waterproof formulas. The rubbery applicator has thin bristles that offer better definition than most other volumizing mascaras I’ve tried.

The Colossal Volum’ Express required only one coat for noticeably more dramatic lashes.

The Cons

Both of these products feature wide handles, which take some getting used to. However, after a few uses, I was not as put off by this as I was when I first bought them.

On my lashes, LashBlast requires two to three coats to match the volumizing effect of one coat of Colossal Volum’ Express. In addition, the brush’s rubbery bristles are too short to sastifactorily separate my thick eyelashes. I had to work harder with this mascara.

The Colossal Volum’ Express is a newer product and is not yet available in a waterproof formula. I have not experienced any smudging yet with this product, but I generally prefer waterproof mascara because my eyes tend to tear up during the day. Additionally, this product (at least the Glam Black color that I purchased) has a heavy odor that is both chemical and cloyingly floral. The brush is wider than most, making it somewhat difficult to avoid smearing mascara on my eyelid. This isn’t a big problem when I’m wearing black eyeliner on my upper lashline, because the smear doesn’t show. But it can be a nuissance when I am not wearing liner.

The Verdict

I would repurchase either of these products. However, if they cost the same amount, I slightly favor Maybelline’s The Colossal Volum’ Express over CoverGirl’s LashBlast for the following reasons:

  • Colossal Volum’ Express requires only one coat for great enhancement, which I appreciate in the morning before work.
  • Because I could use just one coat for dramatic effect, my lashes felt softer (i.e. not crunchy) with Colossal Volum’ Express than with LashBlast.
  • Colossal Volum’ Express did a better job of straightening out my unruly lashes.
One thought on “Side by Side Review — LashBlast & Colossal Volum’ Express”

  1. I’ve only tried the Maybelline one. I love the coverage to my lashes… in the middle. I can’t seem to get this to stay on the tips even when I coat them from the back.

Comments are closed.